RICHLAND, Wash.- If you
plan to man the helm this spring and summer, you may need to bring along a
boater education card.
This year, anyone
between 12 and 50 years old who's going to drive a motorboat of 15 horsepower
or more in Washington waters must earn the boater safety card.
The Richland Yacht Club
and the Benton County Sheriff will hold a daylong class March 23 at the Yacht
Club on Columbia Point Drive in Richland.
"You can also get the boater
education card by going on line and do the test. You can have Washington State
Parks mail you the test and the training information," says Lieutenant Chuck
Jones. "But the best way to do it is to take the class because it's a lot more
in depth and you'll learn a lot more."
The fine for not having
the card is about $75, a lot more than the course, which is free. It will cost
boat operators $10 to get the certificate from the State Parks and Recreation
Boaters must pre-register for the class by March 15 in person at the
Benton County Sheriff' office in Kennewick or by calling 735-6555.